Some interesting facts about divorce in Illinois:
Filing: A dissolution action, or a divorce petition, may be filed by anyone who has resided in the state for at least 90 days. You can file for divorce prior to fulfilling the 90-day residency requirement, but the divorce may not be finalized by the court until you have resided in Illinois for at least 90 days.
Grounds: The state of Illinois (unlike Iowa), is a “fault state”. This means that a reason must be given to the Court as to why you are seeking a dissolution of your marriage. The most common grounds cited in local counties are irreconcilable differences and mental cruelty. The state also accepts identified reasons such as physical cruelty, desertion, impotency, habitual drunkenness, venereal disease, an attempt to take your life, or a conviction of felony.
Fees: The current fee for filing a divorce petition in Rock Island County is $231.00. The cost to file in other Illinois counties varies from county to county. Fee information is available from your local Circuit Clerk.
Be sure to check back soon for a discussion of service of process and other aspects of divorce, including child support and maintenance (alimony).
If you require legal representation for the dissolution of marriage, contact VanDerGinst Law at 1-866-843-7367. Initial consultation is free of charge.